The complete training calendar is on our CDMS link above. Username and password is required.
The schedule includes live and web-based trainings and summits for NMPD attorneys, investigators, and all other staff members.
During 2013, NMPDD's Training schedule will include a two-day annual training on June 5th and June 6th at the University of New Mexico's School of Law, 14 hours of Web-based interactive video training sessions, and one Ethics Roadshow training at all of the NMPDD regional offices. NMPDD trainings are mandatory for all NMPDD lawyers.
In addition to the statewide trainings, each District office will plan and conduct a minimum of two local jurisdiction trainings by November 1, 2013. Each local session will comprise a minimum of 1 CLE hour credits. Regional and divisional District Defenders and Managing Attorneys will submit their annual training plans to the NMPDD Training division by June 1, 2013.
WebEx Trainings. Statewide WebEx training sessions are on Thursday. If WebEx trainings are watched live in one of the remote locations (PD offices statewide), then you may apply for LIVE CLE credit. If the WebEx programs are viewed as a recording, the CLE credits will be non-live. The WebEx recordings will be made available on the following week of the live session and will remain on the WebEx site for 30 days. To get CLE credit for WebEx training recordings, CLE certificates of attendance must be faxed to Judy Gonzales in Santa Fe no later than 48 business hours after viewing the WebEx program. Fax to: 1-505-476-0777. Contract attorneys must mail their CLE Attendance Certificates directly to the NMMCLE office along with a check for $1 per CLE credit hour to Judy Gonzales.
In addition to the in-house NMPDD trainings, NMPDD will sponsor NMPDD participants to attend CLE trainings scheduled by the New Mexico Criminal Defense Lawyers Association (NMCDLA). See www.NMCDLA.org for course information for NMCDLA programs. NMPDD lawyers also have the opportunity to attend national criminal defense trainings. If NMPDD attorneys wish to attend outside trainings, they may apply for training funds using the Attorney Training Funding Request Form.
Obtaining the required 12 CLE hours is the responsibility of each lawyer - not the NM Public Defender Department. Through this training schedule, each attorney will have the opportunity to earn over 30 hours of CLE credit. It is the responsibility of each individual attorney to insure they have the required CLEs to maintain their law licensure. The annual requirement is 10 general CLE hours, 1 professionalism hour & and 1 ethics hour, for a total of 12 CLE hour credits. According to NMCLE rules, 8 of the 12 CLE credits must be earned during "LIVE" presentations, thus attendance at the live road show and local trainings is mandatory.
A copy of this mandatory training schedule will be sent to all judges in the state. All courts will be advised the NMPD matters should not be scheduled at all during the mandatory NMPDD Annual Training and the Road Show Training.